The Whirlwind of a Month

It’s amazing what can happen in the course of a year.  Amazing what can happen in the course of a month as well.  In the last month of my life I’ve acquired a husband, got rid of at least 20 pairs of shoes, moved 2,000+ miles across the country, started working from home, and so much more.  What did you do last month?

The past month has been a constant state of transition and there is much to be thankful for!  I’m thankful for our many family members and friends who came to celebrate on August 4 with us!  I’m thankful for time to get away and relax in Mexico (and thankful we didn’t have to go the whole trip without our luggage!).  I’m thankful for Than’s amazing packing skills in preparation for the big move.  I’m thankful for time with friends before we left Chicago.  I’m thankful for a smooth (though long – there’s no denying that!) journey across the country. I’m thankful my Dad didn’t run out of gas in the mountains of New Mexico in the middle of the night.  I’m thankful for kind, new neighbors who helped us move in. For the opportunity to work from home…all the storage space in our new apartment…a coffee maker that can be programmed so there’s always coffee waiting for me each morning.  I’m thankful for what’s new in my life and all the changes, yet also so thankful for what never changes.  How thankful I am to serve a God who never changes.  No matter how much else changes we have a steady Rock on which we can depend.

Ecclesiastes 4:12 says that a cord of three strands is not quickly broken.  It’s an exciting time of life for us.  Each day we are learning more about what it looks like to be a cord of three strands.  Our hope is that this blog will allow our family and friends, near and far to get a glimpse into our journey and adventures and also be an encouragement to whoever else might stumble across it.

One thought on “The Whirlwind of a Month

  1. First blog from Apartment 8 on September 8th! I like it! Your place is great and I wish you much happiness. I miss you and all our great chats and chuckles! Much love as you begin this very exciting chapter in your lives. Janine

Leave a Reply

