A Story to Tell

On Wednesday mornings Than and I go to Fuller’s all campus chapel service. This week the speaker was talking about storytelling. “Thank God for Storytellers” to be more specific. He was focused more on those called to be teachers, but the whole concept of storytelling has inspired me! I want to be a good story teller (and that desire makes me feel very good about being a Communications major – you know the degree you can do anything or nothing with..!). Stories engage us. Stories connect us to others. Some stories inspire, while others educate and some amuse. No doubt cultures all throughout history love a good story. We see it from the beginning of time through present day. We see it all over 2012 via mini stories on Facebook statuses and 140 character tweets. Ordinary facts and observations can explode into vibrant, and memorable tales with the right story teller. While storytelling has taken on many forms through history, no doubt storytelling is timeless.

I love a good story. I love the kind of days where by the end of the day I’m bursting with stories to tell. I love stories about travel. I love stories about the funny things that kids say. Stories about where people come from and where they dream of going. Everyone wants a chance to share their story.

And then it hit me. Perhaps I shouldn’t focus so much on telling a story as I should focusing on listening to stories shouting to be heard.

On Sunday nights, we’re volunteering at (Ru) and attending (Than) the Alpha course at our church. So many new faces to get to know…so many stories to be heard. The actress. The homeless woman. A fellow Chicagoan. Unlikely friendships are being built as stories are shared. Bonds are built and trust is established. People share in the joys and share in the sorrow.

Listening to someone’s story is such a powerful thing. With time, perhaps listening to and sharing in someone else’s stories will offer an opportunity to tell The Story. The Story that never gets old to tell. The Story we should be falling more deeply in love with every day. The Story that has transformed my life and my thinking. The Story that fills a longing deep within us all…

I love to tell the story
of unseen things above,
of Jesus and his glory,
of Jesus and his love.
I love to tell the story,
because I know ’tis true;
it satisifies my longings,
as nothing else can do.

I love to tell the story,
’twill be my theme in glory,
to tell the old, old story,
of Jesus and his love.

Leave a Reply

