Life Lessons from Pinterest and a few “wins”

Today I planned to bring you my latest Pinterest wins and fails when I realized… I don’t actually have any fails to share with you since last time!  It’s a miracle!  So today I offer you a few Pinterest “wins” you that may want to try out!

Win 1:  Jalapeno Popper Wonton Bites

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly – I used fresh jalapeno’s instead of canned and my kitchen isn’t sophisticated enough to contain “smoked paprika” just regular ol’ paprika (and actually, I think I forgot the paprika all together now that I think about it) but these were delicious!  I literally just made 1 wonton bite to see how it would turn out – definitely on my list of things to make again!

Win 2: Parmesan Knots

My friend Jill made these for a Pinterest Party (where everyone made recipes from Pinterest for the party – how fun!) and so I was inspired to give them a try!  Also delicious.  Great with a hot bowl of soup on a chilly night!  And SO easy!

Win 3: Sinful Cinnamon and Sugar Donuts

Well what’s a girl to do with the leftover biscuit dough?  We certainly didn’t want to be eating parmesan knots for a week – therefore, we had leftover dough.  In our house, it means my donut-loving husband got a yummy treat!  They probably don’t compare with Tim Hortons but they were made with love ❤  And so so easy!  Just make a hole in the middle of the biscuit, fry it up and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.

Would Have Been a Win if I followed the instructions: Salted Carmel Rice Krispy Treats

How does a person mess up rice krispy treats?  Well somehow I managed to do so!  I shouldn’t have tried making them from what I remembered.  I should have re-opened up the blog.  End of story.  Great flavor. Bad bad texture.  Will be better next time.

Realizing that I’ve provided only links to junk food today, let me leave you with a couple of “healthier” recommendations from my Pinterest endeavors.

Grilled Pineapple Turkey Burgers – We broiled ours instead and left off the cheese.  Actually, not that I look at the recipe we didn’t really follow it at all aside from the ground turkey and the pineapple. Oh, and the onion.  Guess this just served as inspiration for us.  We (ok, more accurately “I”…) put in some teriyaki sauce, broiled the burgers (ground turkey mixed with a few bread crumbs and some chopped red onion) and the pineapple (also with a little teriyaki sauce), served on wheat buns – yum!

Roasted Broccoli – I’m really into cooking our veggies in the oven.  Yum yum.  Tonight’s menu includes roasted green beans!

Life Lessons about our Pinterest lovin’ society…

1.  It works best when you follow the instructions.

2.  If it looks to easy/good to be true, it probably is.

3.  Don’t try Pinterest recipes out on dinner guests.

4.  Don’t let Pinterest squelch your creativity – even if you feel like every good idea you could possibly dream up is already pinned 3409823 times.

 

Leave a Reply

