From the Kitchen of Apartment 8 – Enchilada Pie

One day I will be the wife that has “go to” recipes for when people have babies or for when company is coming over.  However currently we’re just entering into that stage of life and so it still takes a little bit of planning to build up some default recipes.  So this week was my turn to make a post-baby meal.  These friends like mexican food and so I thought enchiladas seemed like a good option.  They make good leftovers, can be frozen if you want to eat them later, etc.

So there began my search for the perfect enchilada recipe.  I’ve made enchiladas lots of times in the past but I don’t really have a standard recipe.  Hundreds of recipes later (yes, I’m probably exaggerating), I combined my favorite aspects of many different recipes and ended up with this tasty, husband-approved enchilada pie.  Yes, I definitely made one for us before daring to take a brand new concoction to friends!  AND – bonus – we love Mexican food but I hate that it’s usually pretty light on the veggies.  Not the case with this recipe!

Enchilada Pie

Ingredients:

  • 4 large flour tortillas
  • 1 can refried beans
  • 1 can green enchilada sauce
  • 1 cup cooked and shredded chicken
  • 1 zucchini cut into small pieces
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • Taco Seasoning
  • Cumin
  • Shredded Cheese

Preheat the oven to 350.  Heat up a tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet and saute the chopped onion.  Add in the zucchini, chicken and corn.  Sprinkle on taco seasoning and cumin to align with your flavor preferences.  While this is cooking, spread refried beans on the 4 tortillas.  (I HATE the look of refried beans so I enlisted the help of my husband to do this part).  Use a round baking dish (or pie pan…cake pan…anything round works!) and pour 1/4 can of enchilada sauce into the pan and cover the bottom.  Lay the first tortilla down (bean side up) then layer on the chicken and veggie mixture.  Top with cheese and more enchilada sauce, then cover with the next tortilla (again – beans up).  Repeat 2x (you should have 1 tortilla left at this point).  Place that tortilla (beans DOWN) over the pie.  Top with remaining enchilada sauce and cheese.  Cover with foil and bake for 25 minutes.  Remove foil and bake until cheese is brown and bubbly.

Serve with sour cream and salsa or hot sauce.

I’m sorry to say that I forgot to take a picture but you’ll just have to trust me it looks and tastes delicious!  It’s definitely on the “make again” list at our house!

Leave a Reply

