From the Kitchen of Apartment #8 – Chunky Monkey Bark

It all started with a bag of banana chips that had been in the pantry for what seems like forever.  You see, I have this love/hate relationship with bananas.  I think it all started when I was in elementary school and I had a banana in my lunch and there was a HUGE spider in my lunch box.  Bananas have never been the same since then.  It’s not that I never eat bananas, it’s just that I have to be in the mood to eat them and that doesn’t happen too often.  Alas, I must have been in the mood for bananas then changed my mind when I got home – hence the unopened bag of banana chips.

One thing I do love is the peanut butter and banana combo – eaten plain or in a smoothie. Yum!  However you can’t make smoothies from banana chips – that would be painful to swallow!  It was time for a sweet treat around here and so I got creative and have what we now call….

Chunky Monkey Bark

Image

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup banana chips

Melt the peanut butter and chocolate chips in a sauce pan over low heat, stirring consistently to ensure that it doesn’t burn or stick to the pan.  When melted, mix in a bowl with banana chips.  Spread in a (relatively) flat layer on a jelly roll pan lined with wax paper. Stick in the freezer for about 30 minutes.  Remove and break into chunks.  Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

 

Leave a Reply

