Fun Recipe Finds from Pinterest

You know me – always looking on Pinterest for a fun new recipe.  I rarely make the same dish twice, though I do keep track of everything I make in a spreadsheet.  Here are a few things I’ve tried recently – why not add one or two to your weekly menu?!

French Toast Dumplings – These are incredibly rich, gooey and delicious.  Even a non milk drinker will want to wash this down with a cold glass of milk.  Their very simple to make and a fun twist on a breakfast favorite!
Bacon and Pea Mac and Cheese – I had half a bag of frozen peas in the freezer that I was just itching to get rid of.  I’m not a huge fan of peas but this was good – I felt much better about eating mac and cheese with peas in it!  We substituted cheddar for the gruyere because that’s what was in the fridge!
Spicy Sausage Pasta – This was a hit!  Think mac and cheese meets pizza and mexican food.  All of which are favorites at our house!  Now I must admit, as usual I didn’t follow the recipe exactly.  We had some leftover, browned spicy sausage from making lasagna and so I substituted that for the turkey sausage.  That’s probably what gave it the pizza flair.  While it wasn’t as pretty as the photo it was still mighty tasty!  Also, if you don’t use low sodium chicken broth, be sure not to salt it any extra or you’ll be guzzling several glasses of water with dinner!
Sweet Chicken Bacon Wraps – These were a hit – very simple and a great sweet/salty combo.
Beef and Barley Soup – We love soup.  Paired with homemade hummus and homemade pita chips this made a great Sunday night dinner.  I cooked ours in the crockpot and added in some mushrooms, boullion and a little creole seasoning.  We liked the added saltiness – without our added boullion or creole seasoning I think it would have been a little bland.
Ham and Cheese Pockets – Sadly the extra ones didn’t last long enough to make it to our freezer – next time I’ll definitely make more.  It’s definitely more tasty than an ordinary ham and cheese sandwich!
Thai Style  Beef Stew – I added a few extras – some ginger and a bit of Thai curry paste, then served it over stir fried snow peas and bean sprouts, then a little Sriacha because I love extra heat!  The green onions and peanuts sprinkled on top are the perfect touch!
Healthy Cookies – Than says I can’t call these cookies, though he’s certainly in favor of me making them again.  They’re healthy enough that I felt no guilt eating them for breakfast today with my morning coffee!  We added coconut, golden raisins and chocolate chips.  The original blogger mentions eating them warm – we actually prefer ours refrigerated, but they’re good either way!
Broccoli Cheese Bites – Please ignore the fact that it says they’re for kids.  Who doesn’t love some broccoli and cheese?!  A yummy and filling side.  Served it tonight with pan fried tilapia!
Leave a Reply

