The Funeral Crasher

I thought he was telling me a joke.  It started like this…. “Last Saturday I went to a funeral…” Don’t be shocked that I thought it was a joke.  He’s always waiting each week with a a joke, a piece of trivia, or a completely bizarre bit of information.  The “joke” went on… “Last Saturday I went to a funeral.  I didn’t know the person.” See – that’s why I thought it was a joke!  Why did this man attend a funeral of someone he didn’t know?  I was baffled.  So I asked, still wondering if a punch line was coming my way.  His answer – “For the sermon.  Immediately the words “funeral crasher” popped into my head, but those thoughts were quickly replaced with awe.

Rarely do I meet someone with such a desire to learn.  He has an insatiable thirst for knowledge.  A life long learner…  That’s what I want to be!  To live with curiosity. To ask questions.  To seek answers.  To expand my horizons.  To engage in conversations. To stretch my mind. And my imagination! To always remember how little I really know…

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

 -Mahatma Gandhi

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

-Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut

Leave a Reply

