Catching Up – “I Was a Stranger” Days 5-7

Day 5: Leviticus 19:9-10

“When you reap the harvest of your land, you shall not reap your field right up to its edge, neither shall you gather the gleanings after your harvest. 10 And you shall not strip your vineyard bare, neither shall you gather the fallen grapes of your vineyard. You shall leave them for the poor and for the sojourner: I am the Lord your God.

Day 6: Leviticus 19:33-34

33 “When a stranger sojourns with you in your land, you shall not do him wrong. 34 You shall treat the stranger who sojourns with you as the native among you, and you shall love him as yourself, for you were strangers in the land of Egypt: I am the Lord your God.

Day 7: Leviticus 23:22

22 “And when you reap the harvest of your land, you shall not reap your field right up to its edge, nor shall you gather the gleanings after your harvest. You shall leave them for the poor and for the sojourner: I am the Lord your God.”

I wonder what the equivalent is for gleaning in Los Angeles in 2013.  I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of “extra” in my life.  Our pantry is full, things fall out of the freezer every time I open it, and I’m always short on hangers when I’m putting the laundry away.  Yes, my life is certainly full of excess.  There seems to be call in these verses to give away our excess…or perhaps event to ensure that there is excess to give away to those in need.

Opportunities surround me on a daily basis to provide for those in need – to share out of my abundance.  Food drives, dropping off clothes at the thrift store, donating baby supplies to the crisis pregnancy center, donating professional clothes I never wear now that I work at home to Dress for Success to help women who are looking for jobs look the part…  The list goes on and on. What am I waiting for?  There’s a bag of clothes sitting in our bedroom to be donated and an empty bag to be filled with food to donate to our community. As one called to love others, I have no excuse for not giving out of the abundance God has provided for me.

“You can give without loving, but you can never love without giving.” -Victor Hugo

Leave a Reply

