English FAIL

As you may recall, I’m in the process of doing an online TESOL certification program.  I’m about halfway through and I’m looking forward to being done!  I know in the long run I’ll be glad that I have this certification, especially when we move overseas, but right now it’s hard to discipline myself to spend more time behind the computer screen after an 8-9 hour work day!  My goal is to finish by fall so I can audit some classes here at Fuller.

Here are a couple of highlights from my lessons – I think you’ll appreciate them:

  • When KFC® entered the Chinese market, they discovered that their slogan “finger lickin’ good” was translated as “eat your fingers off.”
  • When Gerber® started selling baby food in Africa, they used the same packaging as in the United States, with the smiling baby on the label. Later, they learned that in Africa, companies put the pictures on the labels of what’s inside since many people can’t read.

Ooops.

Leave a Reply

