We Need More Dinner Parties In Our Lives!

I just finished reading the book “Bread and Wine” by Shauna Niequist about life around the table.  Since getting married (and probably thanks to the creation of Pinterest) I am finding that I love to entertain…or I at least love the idea of entertaining.  I couldn’t put this book down!  I was captivated by her stories and her recipes, swooning over the community that can be found around the table and longing for more of that.  And I felt so much better about myself after reading that Shauna reads cookbooks from cover to cover too!

There’s something about sitting around the table and sharing a meal that bonds you together.  Our tiny apartment doesn’t hinder the “magic” that comes from gathering around the table over conversation and food. I love that hospitality is something the transcends all cultural differences.  No matter where you are sharing a meal together is a sign of friendship.  I often find myself wondering where we’ll live (probably somewhere in Africa) and wondering what ingredients will be available and dreaming up just how creative I’ll get to be in the kitchen!

Here’s last night’s dinner party menu – a few of our favorites!

Dinner Party Menu:

  • Appetizer: Bacon Wrapped Dates (stuffed with goat cheese) – This is a recipe I got from the book mentioned above – delicious! Definitely a recipe to keep.  Than said they looked like beetles, but he quickly changed his tone after tasty one and switched over to jokes like “Does this bacon look dated to you?”
  • Chicken Marsala
  • Parmesan Garlic Orzo
  • Roasted Broccoli – no recipe needed, just broccoli, olive oil, sea salt and a hot oven!
  • Pineapple Cake

Here are the Bacon Wrapped Dates – amazing sweet/salty combo!  Seriously, go out and buy some dates, bacon and goat cheese right now.  You NEED to do this.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

