WCAGLS – The Aftermath!

The past 2 days, we had the awesome opportunity to attend the Willow Creek Global Leadership Summit via satellite campus at our church.  The speakers were incredible.  It was one of those events where you just try to soak in as much as you possibly can, while scribbling notes as quickly as possible, knowing that any of the good quotes you miss can be found later on Twitter!

Leadership principles are relevant for everyone.  Many say that we’re all leaders – and I agree.  We all have opportunities to lead people in our sphere of influence, whether that be in a formal or informal capacity.  But the reality is, if you’re alive and living life these principles apply.  The leadership insights are about life and people and unless you’re a hermit your world has a lot of life and people going on!

Now it’s time for what I’d call the aftermath. The thought of trying to summarize these last two days is incredibly overwhelming.  I feel that there’s no possible way that a summary can even begin to do justice to the powerful insights and wealth of information shared by the speakers.  I suppose the best way to do to justice to an event like this is not simply with more words, but with action.  Taking these words and prayerfully applying them to your life…  Allowing them to change the way you live and interact with people. It really comes down to this – what are you going to do now?

With every bit of new information comes new responsibility.  In a world that is producing new data like never before (seriously – you have to check out this Infographic of how much new data is produced every minute – it is unreal) we are facing a battle against information overload.  Being inundated with so much new information can paralyze us.  What do we do next?

I took some time this morning to sit down with a cup of coffee and my notes to reflect and consider all that I’ve heard. The only thing I do know is that I can’t do everything.  But I cannot and will not allow the fact that I can’t do everything to be a barrier to me doing something.  

Here’s my plan of attack:

1. I’m not going to rush it.  I need some time and space to think.  It’s just how I’m wired and I’m going to make choices with my time that allow that.  And it’s a great way to rationalize why I’m still in my PJs at 1:51 pm on a Saturday afternoon!

2.  I’m not going to forget. My Summit notebook is right next to my laptop. I can’t ignore it. I won’t let the tasks, schedule, people, etc. allow my mind to move on and past this without properly reflecting.

3.  I’m going to get specific. Broad, generalized actions get me no where.  It has to be concrete – something I can do at a specific time, place and in a specific way.

Why all the effort? Because I refuse to to let the aftermath of information overload paralyze me into doing nothing.

Leave a Reply

