From the Kitchen of Apartment 8 – Corn Flake Crunch French Toast

I love Saturday morning breakfast. It might be my favorite meal of the week. Rolling out of bed whenever I want and then lounging around in my pajamas and enjoying my favorite breakfast foods…it makes for a great, relaxing morning!

Inspired by some amazing corn flake crusted French Toast I had at Marston’s, a restaurant here in Pasadena, I decided to create my own French Toast concoction. I’m a big texture person and I love the crunch in this recipe!

Double Dipped Corn Flake Crunch French Toast

Ingredients:

6 Hawaiian Rolls
2 Eggs
2 Cups of Corn Flakes
1 tsp Vanilla
2 tsp Cinnamon Sugar
2 TBSP Milk
Butter

In one small bowl, beat the egg, vanilla, milk and cinnamon sugar together (Adjust to your taste preferences – I don’t usually measure!). Crunch up the Corn Flakes in another small bowl. Cut the rolls in half (like if you were making a sandwich out of them). Dip each roll half in egg mixture until both sides are covered, dip in corn flakes, then dip in the egg mixture again. Repeat until all roll halves are covered. Melt a couple of tablespoons of butter in a pan and fry until crunch and golden brown, flipping about halfway through. Serve with syrup or honey and a hot cup of coffee with lots of milk! Yum!

IMG_0194

Leave a Reply

