Healthy Ingredient Swap – Pancakes

I’m on a mission to cut the amount of carbs we eat.  I’m not being obsessive by any means – just trying to eat less carbs and more protein, fruits and veggies.  Because I really enjoy cooking I thought that cutting carbs would be really limiting, but I’m actually finding that it’s quite fun to get creative and come up with some alternative options.  And it helps that we’re not fully cutting them out of our diet – just cutting down on the amounts which I think is probably best for a sustainable healthy lifestyle.

My latest attempt was to make a carb loaded breakfast favorite a little more healthy.  I mixed and matched several recipes for healthy pancakes (and maybe added a couple of things of my own) and here’s what I came up with.  Now don’t expect a fluffy buttermilk  pancake.  These a bit more dense, loaded with protein and I think they’re delicious!

Pancakes

  • 1 Cup Greek Yogurt with Honey
  • 1 TBSP Butter (softened)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp Honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 cup Flour
  • 1/4 cup Flax Meal
  • 1/2 cup Almond Meal

Mix the wet ingredients, then pour in the dry ingredients, mixing well. The batter will be quite sticky.  Melt some butter in a non-stick skillet and cook the pancake for about 2 minutes per side.  Feel free to use your spatula to shape the batter into circles if you like your pancakes to be perfectly round.

Top with your toppings of choice and enjoy!  I actually could just eat these plain.  But when I’m in the mood for sweet, my personal favorite toppings are either Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter or The Peanut Butter Co Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter.  Of course honey, or maple syrup are other great options. Yum!

Image

Leave a Reply

