Story and Glory

Thursday nights are one of the best nights of the week. It’s when my Fuller Wives small group meets. What an amazing group of women! We start out each year by sharing our testimonies.

Last night I had the opportunity to share my story. I love sharing my story because it forces me to take the time to remember. It’s an opportunity to remember what God has done. To remember His faithfulness. His goodness. His guidance. His provision. His grace.

I don’t know about you, but I am so quick to forget. And when I forget it leaves room for all sorts of things (like fear, anxiety, criticism, etc.) to creep into my life and make themselves comfortable. Far more comfortable than I would like these things to ever be in my life!

Whenever I am sharing my story, there are 5 questions I like to ask myself:

  1. Is this story I am sharing more about my actions or God’s actions in my life?
  2. Will the listener know more about me or more about God by the end?
  3. Have I been faithful to what God wants me to share? (This includes everything from whether or not I was prayerful about sharing, to a willingness to be open/vulnerable to integrating scripture!
  4. What’s the main message my listeners will be left with as a result of sharing my story?
  5. How does the way I am communicating my story reflect God’s bigger story?

It doesn’t matter if you feel like your story is powerful or compelling.  It’s not about us anyway. We serve a powerful God who has done something in your life and your story exists to bring Him glory and to reflect more of Him to the world around us.

Thank you God for the unique stories you have given each of us and the diverse ways that these stories show us more about You!

Leave a Reply

