A Post about Hockey and Goat Cheese – Our Random Life

Another weekend has come and gone. I am totally missing that extra hour!  I enjoy my job, but I sure wish that we could lose an hour during the work day rather than on our precious weekends!  It’s been a good weekend.  On Friday night we went to an NHL game – Ducks vs. Penguins.  Than is a huge Penguins fan and I got him tickets for his birthday last October. It was fun to finally be able to put them to use!

ImageImage

Saturday we went out for breakfast, Than worked on papers (the end of the quarter is near!) and I went for a walk with a friend.  Saturday night we had dinner with some friends who are about to have a baby then are moving to Texas early this summer. We live in a place where so many people we know are in transition and it’s sad to think of the many friends who have already moved away in our short time living here!

Today was a typical Sunday – Fidelis (our Sunday school class), church then the Community Meal.  Tonight when we got home I was feeling creative so I put my creativity to use in the kitchen.  What’s on the menu? Homemade fruit snacks (we’ll see how they turn out – they’re still settling in the fridge!) and an amazing Goat Cheese Personal Pizza (see recipe and photo below).  Disclaimer: I don’t measure so I would just recommend using the following according to your tastes.

Goat Cheese Personal Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 Flour Tortilla
  • Diced Onions
  • Olive Oil
  • Crumbled Goat Cheese
  • Turkey Bacon
  • Dried Dates
  • Sea Salt
  • Cracked Black Pepper

Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Carmelize diced onions in a little bit of olive oil. Cook a couple of slices of turkey bacon – I just cooked mine in the microwave.  Place the tortilla on a baking sheet. Spread the carmelized onions over the tortilla, followed by crumbled turkey bacon, chopped dates and crumbled goat cheese.  Drizzle a little olive oil over the top and top with a little salt and pepper.  Bake for 10-12 minutes and enjoy!

It’s an amazing mix of sweet and salty, creamy and crunchy.  All my favorite things in one!  Next time I might try sprinkling some red crushed peppers on it or drizzling a little balsamic vinegar for a ltitle more bite.  We love tortilla pizzas at our house – such a quick, easy meal in a pinch.

It totally tastes better than it looks – just took a quick pic with my phone before digging in!

Image

Leave a Reply

