6 Down, ____ To Go

Winter quarter is over and Spring Break is here!  I’m taking a couple of days off to make 2 long weekends so we have a little extra time for fun!  Tomorrow I think we’re going to head over to the beach for a picnic, then next weekend we are going to Las Vegas for a couple of days.  It’s always nice to get out of town, even if it’s just for a short time.  With home being my place of work and my place to live, I think I’m especially grateful for a couple of days away.

It’s hard to believe that we’ve been through 6 quarters here at Fuller.  Yes, I say we. No, I’ve never say foot in the classroom (aside from the 15 minutes or so I sat in for a class when we were visiting before retreating to the library to play in my phone and read my Kindle) but I do feel very much a part of the whole seminary experience.

We’re 6 quarters in and I am thrilled to announce that Than has been accepted into the PhD program! The PhD program has been on Than’s radar since that visit to Fuller in 2012 where we so clearly knew that Fuller was the place for us.  It’s been pretty amazing to watch the relationships that Than has built – exceeding our expectations and hopes in many ways.  The PhD journey will begin in August and conclude in…well…we’ll see!  At minimum we’ll be here at Fuller for 18 more months and from there we’ll see what’s happening with his research to see where God takes us next. It’s abundantly clear to us that this is the right next step and we are very thankful for God’s clear direction!

Friday night we went out to dinner to celebrate at a restaurant we have always wanted to try in Pasadena (thanks Mom and Dad for the gift card!) – Roy’s Hawaiian. Our kind waiter asked if we were celebrating anything special so I told them what we were out celebrating.  Clearly not your typical birthday or anniversary but he asked, so I told! We enjoyed a delicious dinner and much to our surprise they brought us a complimentary dessert, took our photo and printed photo and put it in a little frame for us. Totally going above and beyond. I highly recommend the non-traditional celebrations – free dessert without the singing! 

It’s been an eventful week around here and we are very excited about what is ahead.

 

Leave a Reply

