There’s a First Time for Everything – Yoga

Tonight I went to a yoga class with my friend Pam.  It was my first time doing yoga and it was quite an experience! I wish I could have live tweeted the “event” – I was cracking myself up!

1. Despite all the wonderful relaxation benefits of yoga, it’s likely you will get sweaty.  Perhaps even during the warm up (ok, maybe that was just me and not the rest of the class). And all that sweat might possibly make your yoga mat a tiny bit slippery. Just an FYI. Oh, and in spite of black being a good color to sweat in (you know, unlike gray or something that shows horrible sweat marks), sweat spots do in fact come through. My husband was quick to point this out – thanks, honey. And let’s hope those sweat spots made anyone else checking out my backside look away very quickly.

2. It’s a terrible idea to chop and mince fresh garlic within a few hours prior to going to yoga.  It doesn’t matter how many times you wash your hands, the smell lingers.  And thanks to the sweat (see point 1) and the proximity of your face to your hands at times…well, it’s rather unpleasant.

3. It looks like I’m going to have to go to yoga more than once to experience that “yoga magic” our instructor kept referring to.  I’d tell you more, but I just don’t really get it yet. However I am pretty sure that whatever I’m feeling tomorrow will be anything but “yoga magic”.

4.  If yoga is your second workout of the day (insert pat on back here) your legs very well might shake like the earthquakes we’ve been having here in Southern California while doing yoga. This is a good time to take the instructor’s advice and only do what you can do, lest you topple over. (Thankfully I heeded her advice and avoided a minor disaster and potential of embarrassing Pam and having to attend all future classes at the gym alone).

5. The best part of yoga is most definitely the child’s pose and that part at the end of class where you get to lay on the floor and breathe. Now that’s my kind of yoga!

Believe it or not, after all that I definitely hope to go back. At least that’s what I’m saying tonight.  We’ll see tomorrow when muscles I didn’t know I had are screaming at me.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

