Menu Planning Monday – Week of September 1

I’ll let you in on a little secret. I have a spreadsheet of what I’ve cooked for dinner every single night since we’ve been married. Yes, I know it’s a little crazy. In case you couldn’t guess, I’m a planner through and through. I find great joy in planning. It’s not a burden for me – I find it fun.

I enjoy cooking and it’s important to me that we stay on budget, are not wasteful and eat reasonably healthy and well-balanced meals. I don’t see any other option than planning to make sure all of those things happen! Lots of people over the last couple of years have asked me for dinner ideas, or if they can see my list, or have recommended I start a blog. Since I already have a blog that seems like the easiest way!

Now, before you read ahead, let me just make it clear that I’m no gourmet cook. I don’t follow recipes precisely – in fact, I usually just use them for inspiration and they never fully make it into the kitchen with me.  We also end up going out to eat more often than we should – no judgement please! Also, we try and eat lots of fresh fruit and veggies (or smoothies with both mixed in) at lunch or throughout the day to ensure that we get enough servings of fruits and veggies. Salad is also a go-to side for us.

Monday: Lasagna (Lasagna makes way too much for 2 people so when I do make lasagna I always make 2 smaller pans rather than 1 large pan and freeze a pan for later. I also use cottage cheese instead of ricotta, as it’s much cheaper and I like to use hot turkey sausage instead of ground beef for the meat).

Tuesday: Chicken Pot Pie 

Wednesday: Quiche and Salad

Thursday: Turkey Sausage, Red Potato, Pepper and Onion Bake (Chop all of these things up into medium-large chunks, drizzle with olive oil, sea salt and pepper and bake at 400F until the potatoes are done.)

Friday: Homemade Pizza

Saturday: Turkey Burgers, Roasted Broccoli and Potatoes

Sunday: Sundays are our busiest day of the week. Between our Sunday school class, church, then Than works from 1:30-6:30 we don’t really have much time for cooking.  We usually have leftovers or something in the crockpot for lunch, then Breakfast for Dinner every Sunday night. This Sunday we have a family potluck – not even sure we’ll need dinner after that!

Leave a Reply

