I am 16 Going on 17…

Every time I think about 16 weeks I get that song from the Sound of Music stuck in my head.  Little known fact – very early on in our relationship I remember Than singing Sound of Music songs with me in the car. I knew he was a keeper at that point!

She Said:

How far along? 16 Weeks
Total weight gain: Lost another pound this week… But the belly is rounding out so I’m not too concerned.
Maternity clothes? A few items accumulating in the closet.
Sleep: Still waking up a lot during the night, but overall I feel well rested.
Best moment this week: My nightly shoulder massages from Than – he takes such good care of me and sitting at my desk all day makes me so sore! Or maybe the spontaneous excursion to Griffith Park and Observatory last night – got to take advantage of the ease of being spontaneous while we can!
Miss Anything? My good memory. This baby brain thing is legit – I am so forgetful lately. I forgot my phone yesterday morning when going to the doctor’s office, then I went to get my lunch out of the microwave and opened the refrigerator instead…
Movement: I think I’ve felt flutters twice. It seems a bit early, especially as first time moms usually don’t feel them until later but I really think I felt some movement. Both times it was around 8:30 or 9 pm and I was laying on the bed reading/playing on the iPad.
Food cravings: Hmmm… Nothing comes to mind. Maybe pancakes. But I always love pancakes so I’m not sure that counts. I did have them 2x this week and that is not normal!
Anything making you queasy or sick: I had to buy some new deodorant this week. Let me just tell you, NONE of them smelled good. I’m still really sensitive to smells.
Have you started to show yet: Yep – I feel like I’m getting rounder by the day. Probably still far more noticeable to us than anyone else.
Gender: You know how on a test teachers tell you not to change your answer and how the first instinct is usually right? I’m going back to my gut instinct. I think BOY.
Labor Signs: No.
Belly Button in or out? In – but definitely not as far in as it used to be!
Wedding rings on or off? Still on – I’m afraid that answer might change in next week’s 106 degree weather though.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy!
Looking forward to: Picking a name and finally holding our little one!

He Said:

How far along?: A little more rounder.
Total weight gain: We got a car seat so we’re progressing on that front.
Maternity clothes?: Not this week.
Sleep: Sometimes good, sometimes ok.
Best moment this week: Supposedly the baby moved; sadly I couldn’t feel anything.
Miss Anything?: Not yet
Movement: Supposedly…
Food cravings: Ice cream seems to have passed…. Not sure what we’ve moved on to, which isn’t good for my caretaking reputation.
Anything making you queasy or sick: Salt and vinegar chips don’t seem to sit well (personally, I’ve always hated them so I’m not surprised).
Have you started to show yet: Yep!
Gender: She doesn’t even know what she thinks anymore. However, I do and I’m sticking with boy.
Labor Signs: Nope.
Belly Button in or out? Still in, but it’s noticeably less so.
Wedding rings on or off? Still on; the baby hasn’t edged me out yet.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy.
Looking forward to: Hearing the heartbeat on Monday….it’ll make it more real.
Week 16
Leave a Reply

