18 Weeks

Another week has come and gone. Is it just me, or did I just post a blog about the weekly progress.  This week has flown by! It’s been lots of fun having my Mom in town and taking a little time off from work. Baby is growing – or at least my belly is! Baby went from the size of a turnip to a sweet potato this week.

She said:

How far along? 18 Weeks
Total weight gain: +1 from last week so the grand total is now -1
Maternity clothes? Maternity clothes galore! And new clothes was the perfect reason to reorganize my closet.  All the stuff that isn’t going to fit much longer has been moved to the back. I’m just starting to wear some maternity stuff – perhaps more because I like wearing new clothes than out of necessity…
Sleep:  This was a pretty good week of sleep – I’m great at walking to the bathroom in the middle of the night with my eyes closed. Or I’ve just adjusted to getting up in the night.  Weird dreams continue… Last night I was wearing a hazmat suit…can’t remember why!
Best moment this week: Visit from Grandma!
Miss Anything? Not so much.
Movement: Maybe 1x this week. At this point I’ve only felt movement a couple of times and only when I’m sitting very still – which I don’t seem to do for long enough periods of time.
Food cravings: Nothing specific…  Not sure this counts as a craving, but I’ve been obsessed with eating wheat bagels with cream cheese, honey and a few walnuts for breakfast. SO delicious.
Anything making you queasy or sick: Not that I can think of.
Have you started to show yet: Yes I have! This is the first week it’s getting quite noticeable in my opinion.
Gender: By this time next week we should have the answer to this!!!!!  Umm… I’m going to say boy. Sticking with my original gut feeling. Plus, boy names are WAY easier to come up with than girl names.
Labor Signs: Nope!
Belly Button in or out? In.  I told Than that if he cuts the umbilical cord I’d like for our baby to have an outie. I think outie’s are SO cute. Not entirely sure how much he’ll be able to control that 😉
Wedding rings on or off?  On.
Happy or Moody most of the time:  Mostly happy.
Looking forward to: Than seeing our baby for the first time on Thursday’s ultrasound!

He said:

How far along? 18 weeks? It’s all running together at this point
Total weight gain: More maternity clothes were acquired this week, thanks to Grandma Northcutt. So, overall, I think we’re at 40-45 pounds, give or take a little (this includes stroller, car seat, and maternity clothes).
Maternity clothes? Yes, she practically has a whole new wardrobe!
Sleep: So far pretty good.
Best moment this week: Seeing how happy and excited Grandma Northcutt is about the baby! Or maybe it’s about being a grandma… Same thing?
Miss Anything? Hmm… Can’t think of anything.
Movement: Flutters have been recorded, but not verified. 😉
Food cravings: Well, apparently I’m not aware of these because they’re being fulfilled while I’m away from home. She said apple sauce last week?! I never knew that one! Not sure what’s she’s hiding from me this week…
Anything making you queasy or sick: Apparently Spam at Costco almost required a call for clean-up in aisle 15.
Have you started to show yet: Yes! And this one I can verify.
Gender: Boy
Labor Signs: Not for Ru; but there were certainly labor signs for me carrying those bags of maternity clothes around the shopping mall…
Belly Button in or out? Still in. Surprisingly the debate this week was about whether MY belly button was in or out. Someone is losing their focus…
Wedding rings on or off? Still on.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, probably because of the all the maternity clothes.
Looking forward to: Being done shopping for maternity clothes. Notice a trend this week? 😉 I love you Ru!
Week 18 (2)
Leave a Reply

