26 Weeks – Things are Getting Real

Things are getting real, folks. We are pre-registered for delivery at our hospital. We’ve been sent the paperwork to get our birth certificate for our baby. The baby bump is big enough now that people (other than Than) occasionally touch it (as long as you’re not a stranger, it doesn’t bother me – yet) and I had to turn down a Christmas party because of childbirth class.  Yep, this is definitely getting real.

She said:

How far along? 26 Weeks

Total weight gain:  3 pounds (steady gain this week – I have a feeling that will be my new norm)

Maternity clothes? I still have not given in to maternity pants – but I think that Thanksgiving day is the perfect day to bust them out! I mean who DOESN’T want stretchy, maternity pants on Thanksgiving?!  I am wearing some maternity shirts though – my regular ones are getting a wee bit too short in the front now.

Sleep:  So-so. Some nights are good…others…not so much.

Best moment this week: Reading a nightly Bible story from the Jesus Storybook Bible (such a great book) to the baby.  More fun packages for the baby also arrived this week!

Miss Anything?   Nah, not really.

Movement:  Lots of movement! I’m so curious what she’s doing in there.

Food cravings:  A banana split! Than’s craving for the week was jalapeno cheetos…which I may have enjoyed with him. In all seriousness, those are the hardest things to find and he was beyond excited to find them at Food 4 Less this week!

Anything making you queasy or sick: The landscapers spreading manure outside our building was definitely unpleasant. Two days later and the smell is still lingering…

Have you started to show yet: Yes. Officially quite round.

Gender: Girl

Labor Signs: No, not yet.

Belly Button in or out?  In. I really don’t know if it will ever pop out. Some days it looks like it’s moving outward, then it retracts or something. Who knows!

Wedding rings on or off?  On.

Happy or Moody most of the time: Overall happy.

Looking forward to: Time off work next week for Thanksgiving and our trip to San Francisco!

He said:

How far along? 26 weeks

Total weight gain:  Well, this week we acquired a rocking-gliding chair for $10, which represents a significant weight gain!

Maternity clothes? Yes.

Sleep: As good as it’s gonna get at this point, I think. For me, apparently Baby Veltman tried to kick me out of bed, literally, with a kick to the back in the middle of the night. I slept through it, of course.

Best moment this week: Receiving lots of packages from Grandpa and Grandma Northcutt! I like packages, even if they’re not for me.

Miss Anything? Consistent energy throughout the day.

Movement: Yep, and I don’t think she is doing gymnastics but rather practicing her hockey skills. That, or kick-boxing.

Food cravings:  Chocolate is still a go-to. Popcorn has been pop-ularized frequently as well. (See what I did there?)

Anything making you queasy or sick: It’s been a good week with no significant gag reflex-inducing moments.

Have you started to show yet: Yes!

Gender: Still a girl.

Labor Signs:  No

Belly Button in or out? In. And I’m starting to think it’s never going to pop out despite my suspicions it would…

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy; I’ve been working hard this week…at school and other things, but it seems to do the trick. 😉

Looking forward to: Trip to San Francisco. Baby Veltman is going to enjoy it there!

Week 26

One thought on “26 Weeks – Things are Getting Real

  1. Congrats on the Pregnancy!
    I love your blog so much….I have 2 little girls myself…I wanted to introduce myself. I started “mommy blogging” a few months ago…My fav routine to get back my energy back are yogurt facials, running in the morning, my favorite “preggy” bars which were a huge part of my healthy pregnancy diet plan that I buy at sprouts or online and post preg as well, lots of Kumbucha, chia and yoga…I love blogs to and Instagram. Ok look forward to more blogs. Thanks Jenny….

Leave a Reply

