What’s for Dinner?

I’ve been failing miserably with keeping up with my weekly menu planning blogs.  The plans are there – they just never make it onto the blog! I should admit, I’m not so great at sticking with them during this pregnancy. There are a lot of days where certain things just don’t sound good. I’ve been on a mission lately to make some freezer meals – mostly as a trial run for when baby arrives. As a substitute for Menu Planning Monday I thought I’d share 5 new recipes we have enjoyed lately at our house.  They are either easy or freezer friendly! And the freezer friendly ones are pretty easy as well! Sorry there are no pictures – for some reason taking pictures of food makes it rather unappetizing to me by the time I actually sit down to eat it…

Stuffed Pepper Soup – I didn’t follow this recipe exactly. I used turkey sausage instead of beef, brown sugar instead of white and also used brown rice. I think it would also be good to substitute quinoa for the rice! It makes a lot and I felt like we were eating it for days. Next time I’d only add the cooked rice to half of it and freeze the other half!
Baked Ziti (Freezer meal) – A new favorite. This was so yummy! Definitely a go-to recipe for us from now on.
Butter Beef -This was totally a hit. We don’t eat a lot of beef, but this just melts in your mouth.  Great to add to the crockpot recipe list!
Chicken Pesto Stuffed Shells (Freezer meal)- Nice option for something different in terms of flavor. You don’t find pesto on our dinner table very often – in fact, I used to dislike it, but it’s growing on me and it’s a good option to mix things up a bit.
Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings – This was probably our least favorite of the meals, though still good. Than isn’t a big dumpling person (it’s a texture thing) and I don’t feel great about cooking with cream of _____ (chicken, mushroom, etc). It’s a tasty meal when you’re in the mood for some comfort food on a cold night. We’d definitely make it again – it just won’t be making a regular appearance in our rotation.
What are some of your favorite crockpot or freezer meals?
Leave a Reply

