33 Weeks

It still feels surreal that we have a baby coming in just a few weeks. You’d think the the constant need to visit the bathroom when I start walking for more than a block, or the serious baby wiggles and kicks that sometimes make my entire belly move would make it real – but I guess being pregnant has become my new norm because it still feels surreal! I hope that once baby arrives, being a family of 3 becomes the new norm just as quickly as pregnancy has become the norm.
Lots of people keep asking if “we’re ready.” That is a great question and I really have no idea. Can you actually be ready for the arrival of a baby? I mean, aside from having some diapers, blankets and a crib for baby to sleep in….  At least we are well on our way to marking some of those things off our list! And I’m probably more ready to bring baby home than I am for delivering her!

She said:

How far along? 33 Weeks
Total weight gain: Hanging out at about 9 lbs. Though my belly is starting to feel really heavy! I suppose 9 pounds is about the weight of a bowling ball so that makes me feel better. I don’t bowl often, but when I go every 2 years or so I always have forgotten how heavy bowling balls are. And I may or may not have found myself sore after bowling a few times…
Maternity clothes? Yeah… I pretty much alternate between maternity clothes and yoga pants. Definitely a benefit of working from home!
Sleep:  Some good nights and some bad nights. Than’s sleep may also be suffering on my bad nights due to all my tossing and turning…
Best moment this week: Getting back into a good routine after the holidays was SO nice.
Miss Anything? I miss my standard lunchtime workouts. I was having some pain in my side when doing the elliptical (my current workout of choice). The doctor told me it’s probably just because things are stretching and isn’t a major cause for concern, but I should try something that puts less pressure on me like the stationary bike or aqua aerobics. I am already bored with the bike and look forward to the day when I can do the elliptical again!
Movement: Lots of big movements throughout the day. She seems to be getting a little possessive, as she kicked Than’s arm away when he had it resting on my belly the other night. Yes, the belly is big enough to serve as an armrest…
Food cravings: Just my standard chocolate milk… I don’t think I’ve ever consumed so much milk in my life. I’m not typically much of a milk drinker.
Anything making you queasy or sick: Definitely feeling queasy if my stomach gets too empty – I am getting better about remembering to have snacks because it is SO not worth the nausea.
Have you started to show yet: More and more each week.
Gender: Girl – though last night I had a dream that we actually had a boy. He was so cute – he was super round and squeezable (kinda like Than as a baby – hehe!)
Labor Signs: None for now.
Belly Button in or out? Inching outward, but still in.
Wedding rings on or off?  On.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy – with the exception of right now as our neighbor above us stomps around like crazy. I don’t know how it is possible for someone so small to make SO much racket! One person who probably weighs only 100 pounds sounds like a herd of elephants. I am not even kidding.
Looking forward to: Meeting the  baby! And I’m also looking forward to our infant care class coming up – I think it will at least give us a starting point for figuring out what we’re doing with a newborn!

He said:

How far along? 33 weeks. Wow, time has flown by! And it has been an adventure savoring every moment as much as I can. I am getting more and more excited to finally meet Baby Veltman!
Total weight gain: Nothing this week.
Maternity clothes? Yep!
Sleep: It’s been on a sort of downward trend, but Ru did get a good night’s sleep Thursday night when she only had to get up in the night only twice. I feel bad for her knowing that’s a rarity and unlikely to happen again during this pregnancy.
Best moment this week: With the start of the new school quarter, things have been hectic. But talking, reading to the baby, and spending time connecting before bed has been a real blessing!
Miss Anything? Nothing comes to mind. If Ru writes something here I’ll feel bad though. I hope I’m paying attention enough…
Movement: Yes and lots of it! I’m actually worried about all this activity carrying over after she is born; I feel I better get back to the gym to ensure I’m in shape enough to chase her around! Although, if we can steer all this energy toward’s ice skating, I’m all for it. 🙂
Food cravings: Chocolate milk. Previously, we only had to get milk once a week. Now it feels like every day we’re on the verge of running out! Same goes for the chocolate syrup!
Anything making you queasy or sick: Well, the Baby’s pressure on Ru’s bladder certainly hasn’t been comfortable.
Have you started to show yet: Yep, and it’s become even more obvious now as the baby continues to grow.
Labor Signs: No.
Belly Button in or out? In.
Wedding rings on or off? On. I too hope she never has to take it off.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, although I’d certainly forgive any moodiness as a result of all the pressure on her bladder and the frequent bathroom trips as a result.
Looking forward to: Meeting the baby! Getting so close, I feel like that’s pretty much the most exciting thing to look forward to at this point.
Week 33
Leave a Reply

