Prayers of Reversal

This week at Bible study we were studying Hannah’s prayer from 1 Samuel 2.  In the middle of her prayer are these “prayers of reversal”.  Prayers for the hungry to be hungry no more, prayers for the barren to bare children, from poverty to wealth…and so on.

It got me thinking – what “impossibilities” am I praying for?  Too often I find my prayer list full of common things.  Please don’t get me wrong, we should certainly pray about the “common” things (Scripture is clear that we are to bring all things to Him) but I want my prayer life to be full of God sized prayers.  Prayer for the impossible.  Bold prayers for reversal.  Sometimes I struggle to even think of what big things I should and could be praying for.  Needs are so prevalent I find myself becoming desensitized.  From the seemingly impossible situations of poverty in Africa (and many more places), to human trafficking in Southeast Asia (and beyond…), or homelessness in our community or even the impossibilities in your very own home and life – the list goes on and on.  What’s on your heart is different from what’s on mine and we need to pray boldly for impossible things.  Do not be discouraged when it seems like God isn’t answering.  Be persistent.  Remember Hannah.  Praying for a child.  Pleading with the Lord.  Waiting.  Seeing her prayers answered.

Lord, give us the imagination and courage to pray for the kind of reversals that honor You.

Than and I started a new prayer list with this fabulous idea from Pinterest!
  • Find an old picture frame.
  • Put scrapbook paper behind the glass
  • Use a dry-erase marker for an easy to update prayer list for your family!

Leave a comment